lifestyle

Affordable natural hair care 

Working at an Aveda salon, I usually only use their products because I know it’s a company that I can stand behind. Sometimes though, we need a change of pace. I wanted to branch out and see what sorts of affordable haircare would give me the same healthy feeling hair at a fraction of the price. 

I try new things all the time when it comes to makeup, body care, skin care so why not hair care? I went to my local beauty supply store, just to look around. This is a place only licensed professionals can shop at, they have tons of brands and products to chose from. When I think of affordable salon quality hair care a couple of brands pop into my mind, but the first one I thought of was Biolage.  

Biolage products smell great, but like anything they work well for some and not for others. I thought I had remembered seeing an add for a new line they were coming out with that was natural, so that’s what I was looking for. I was so happy to see the Biolage R.A.W. line when I arrived. There wasn’t much of a selection when it came to different types of shampoos and conditioner, only three to be exact. Of course, smelled them all and let that play a huge factor into my decision making process. I also knew I wanted something that would hydrate and give life to my highlighted and dry hair. 

The liter sizes of these items will run you about $40 a piece at the salon, but less if you can find a sale going on. I am aware this is still a splurge, however in the salon industry it’s not uncommon to see these items go for $60-100 a piece. When you compare those prices it really is more affordable. 

After using the Nourish shampoo and conditioner from the Biolage R.A.W line for the last couple of weeks, I still love the smell, and my hair feels better than it did using a much more expensive line of products. If you are looking for something new, that makes your hair look and feel amazing, this is it! 

Leave a Reply

