lifestyle

Why you should keep your space tidy

Keeping your living space, work space, even your car clean can be a never ending task. I know that I seriously have the hardest time staying on top of household chores. I don’t leave things a mess because I forget about it, I honestly just avoid it. I really rather not clean. 

Recently I have been trying to change my habits. Eating healthier, exercising more frequently, and keeping a tidier house. All of these changes are being accomplished  with consistency. 

I started by simply making my bed everyday. I would make my bed here and there before, but actually making it every day makes getting back in it at night so much sweeter! Every morning I remind myself that taking 3 minutes to make my bed, actually makes me have a clear headed start to my day. The more I have made my bed the more I care about my nightstand and dresser being clutter free, and I actually manage to get my clothes in a hamper. 

Along with my new habits, I started a routine of showering at night. I like to take the time to shower, I feel like it unwinds me at the end of the day. That being said I love to light a candle while I’m in the shower, and let the bathroom steam up so it smells and feels amazing! Lighting a candle on the bathroom counter top can be a huge pain in the butt if you have crap all over the place. Putting all your hair products and makeup away in the morning leaves your bathroom nice and tidy so you can get ready for bed at night without clutter and chaos everywhere. 

Speaking of chaos, when I come out of my bedroom in the morning, nothing makes me feel crazy like a messy kitchen and livingroom. If you take a few seconds to fold up your throw blankets and straighten your pillows, it makes a world of difference. I personally pick up all my son’s toys, clear glasses off the coffee table and fold my blankets. This takes about 5 minutes and makes the entire room feel more relaxing. 

The kitchen is the last place that I have really started noticing how much it effects my mood. I spent a good hour reorganizing my fridge, pantry, and cabinets last weekend. 

I got rid of, I’m not even kidding, about 10 boxes of expired mostly used lasagna noodles. 2 almost empty bags of flower, 3 year old protein powder that was hidden away and all kinds of sauces and such out of my kitchen .  

Keeping your kitchen not only organized but coming up with a dishwasher routine will make your world a happier place. Load and run the dishwasher at night. Put away dishes in the morning. It’s that simple. 

Keeping your space tidy will keep your mind calm. It’s worth the extra 15 minutes a day to do a few small things that can do wonders for your mood, and will save you from a huge cleaning project every weekend. 

6 thoughts on “Why you should keep your space tidy

  1. Hi Carly this is James Campbell. I am so happy that I found you! I know I may not be your favorite person but I would really like to talk with you. If you could somehow send me your email I would be very grateful. I truly would like to apologize to you. I hope you are doing well and that this finds you.

    James

    Like

Leave a Reply

