Uncategorized

How to make sure your hair will survive winter!

The summer can be rough on a girls hair. The sun, the pool, the constant putting it up so it stays off your neck. But honestly, I think the winter is the worst for hair. The cold weather makes hair, dry and brittle. Most of us cover up our bleached out summer hair with a darker color and think all is well. When in reality in a few weeks, your hair is lackluster and a faded muddy color. 

I have come up with a very specific hair routine I use in the colder months to help keep dry, dull,  brittle hair away. Even if you incorporate one or two of these tips, or products in to your routine you will feel and see the difference!

First thing is first, you want to make sure you are using a moisturizing shampoo and conditioner. I prefer one that has protein in it as well because I have blonde hair and I need the strengthening aspects of it. My personal favorite is the Aveda Damage Remedy shampoo and conditioner. This line also has a reconstructing conditioner that can be used once or twice a week for an extra deep conditioning treatment. These products feel right and luxurious going on the hair, and leave your hair silky and soft after its rinsed out. 

The next thing you will want to add into your winter hair care routine is a good leave in conditioner.  I don’t like to use anything too heavy so I opt for a spray instead of a lotion or serum. My absolute hands down favorite is the Healthy Sexy Hair Soy Tri-Wheat Leave in Conditioner. This product smells amazing and makes my hair feel so soft. I honestly only tried this product because I read that Lauren Conrad suggested it, and I love her. Turns out she has fantastic taste in product! I spray this about four or five time on towel dried hair and then comb through to distribute the product evenly.

After spraying on my leave in conditioner, I like to use my regular volumizing spray and then put a very small amount of serum through the ends to really seal in the moisture. I recently started using the Ghost oil by Verb and I am obsessed! I got a sample of the oil in my Ipsy bag a couple of months ago and have already purchased a full sized one from Sephora. The tiniest bit of this oil goes a long way so in this case less is more. Try using only one pump and run the oil between your hands to warm it up, then apply the oil through your ends avoiding the top of the hair strand. This will keep your hair from looking greasy. 

The last thing I do to keep my hair in the best possible winter shape is, not washing it as often. In the summer months I aim to wash every other day because I tend to sweat at night more. In the winter, I aim to wash twice a week. I should really buy stock in dry shampoo. Dry shampoo has been a life saver for me. I wash may hair on day one, dry shampoo on days two and three, and put my hair up or wash it on day four. It took me a long time to find a dry shampoo that I am really in love with. I don’t love aerosol spray dry shampoo, and I don’t love the powder you shake out. When I found the Aveda one, it changed my life! You just squeeze the bottle and the product just puffs out over your hair, thus avoiding the white spots dry shampoo can leave. If you try anything on this list, you must try this dry shampoo! Puff the shampoo over your part and around your hair line and comb through. Of your hair is very oily, try applying the dry shampoo at night and put a generous amount on. By doing this, it will absorb the oils while you sleep, this way you wake up with beautiful oil free hair. 

I hope that these tips and tricks will help you all keep your hair beautiful, healthy and shiny all winter long!

3 thoughts on “How to make sure your hair will survive winter!

Leave a Reply

