lifestyle

5 ways to unwind

Being a mom, a full-time student and a full-time hair stylist, I can get pretty wound up. Before I know it, I am snapping at my husband, I am yelling at the dog to stop breathing on me, all while staring at the pile of dishes in my kitchen sink wondering how long until bed time. When did my life turn into such a chaotic whirl wind?

We all have our daily stressors, and whatever they might be some times we just need to step away and chill the crap out. There is no excuse to not just take 20 or 30 minutes for yourself a few times a week. Weather this means you get up a few minutes earlier (if you are a morning person), or set aside a little bit of time for yourself in the evenings, or even just using some of your lunch time when you are at work, just find the time!

I have put together my top 5 favorite ways to unwind. You can do one of them, or all of them, or maybe even my ways of unwinding will help you think of something that will work for you too.

1. Take a bubble bath

Baths are my absolute favorite way to unwind, hands down, no questions asked. I probably take a bubble bath about three nights a week. I love using bath bombs and bubble bars from Lush. Even if you just use some of your normal body wash, it’s so relaxing to just sit there. Leave your phone far, far away and just disconnect. You can read a book, shave your legs, do a face mask, or my personal favorite have a big ol’ glass of wine.

2. Make some tea and read a book

Reading is not something I seem to make too much time for, but it is something that I really love to do, especially when paired with a nice cup of tea. I find that the best time to really do this is at bed time or mid morning. I love to make my tea, curl up on the couch or get back in bed, and read. Even if you only have 15 minutes, it’s so relaxing to read. If I know I don’t have too much time, I will read through a magazine or just drink tea and stare at the closed book (same thing right?!). The important thing is, you are taking your mind off of any chore or task that is lurking in the back of your mind.

3. Go for a walk

Going for a walk is my favorite way to unwind while I am at work. Some days can just put me over the edge at work, and the last think I want to do is go sit in the break room and listen to other people talk about their problems when I am trying to avoid my own! So, when the weather is nice get outside. I am lucky enough to work close to an awesome park so I will go eat my lunch under a tree. However, if you are not next to a park, just get out and walk around the block. You will be surprised by how a little fresh air can change your whole perspective.

4. Organize 

Organizing counts a unwinding and being productive. Winning! Sometimes I just like to organize things because it somehow makes everything else feel ok again. I will go through and organize my makeup, or clean out all the old products that live under my bathroom sink. These little things make your everyday things feel a little smoother. Another great thing to do is to get your lunch and outfit ready for work the next day. This way its one less thing to worry about in the morning and you can make it a little more fun by having a glass of wine while you do it, or putting on a guilty pleasure tv show as you meal prep for the next day.

5. Girl time

You don’t have to be alone to unwind. Spending time with friends that you don’t get to see too often can be so rejuvenating. Make sure you plan out your girls night a week or two in advance so you aren’t trying to find friends who want to go out last-minute. Chances are your friends need some time to recharge as well. Try going to a new happy hour, or going to see a movie that you know your husband would dread!

Unwinding can seem like mission impossible, but its not. Focus on the amount of time you have and see what you can find that will fit into your schedule. Even finding something to do one time a week will make you feel better, and give you something to look forward to.

 

3 thoughts on “5 ways to unwind

Leave a Reply

